The Smaller Inscriptions of Behistan: By Khosro Sohani


The Smaller Inscriptions of Behistan[A] Over the figure of Darius.

I (am) Darius, the great king, king of kings, king in Persia, king of the countries, the son of Hystaspes, the grandson of Arsames, the Achaemenide. Says Darius the king: My father (is) Hystaspes, the father of Hystaspes (is) Arsames, the father of Arsames (is) Ariaramnes, the father of Ariaramnes (is) Teispes, the father of Teispes (is) Achaemenes. Says Darius the king: Therefore we are called Achaemenides; from long ago we have extended; from long ago our family have been kings. Says Darius the king: 8 of my family (there were) who were formerly kings; I am the ninth (9); long aforetime we are kings.

[B] Under the prostrate form.

This Gaumata the Magian lied; thus he said: I am Bardiya, the son of Cyrus; I am king.

[C] Over the first standing figure.

This Atrina lied; thus he said: I am king in Susiana.

[D] Over the second standing figure.

This Nidintu-Bel lied; thus he said: I am Nebuchadrezzar, the son of Nabu-na’id; I am king in Babylon.

[E] Upon the garment of the third standing figure.

This Phraortes lied; thus he said: I am Khshathrita of the family of Cyaxares; I am king in Media.

[F] Over the fourth standing figure.

This Martiya lied; thus he said: I am Imanish, king in Susiana.

[G] Over the fifth standing figure.

This Citra(n)takhma lied; thus he said: I am king in Sagartia, of the family of Cyaxares.

[H] Over the sixth standing figure.

This Vahyazdata lied; thus he said: I am Bardiya, the son of Cyrus; I am king.

[I] Over the seventh standing figure.

This Arakha lied; thus he said: I am Nebuchadrezzar, the son of Nabu-na’id; I am king in Babylon.

[J] Over the eighth standing figure.

This Frada lied; thus he said; I am king in Margiana.

[K] Over the ninth standing figure.

This (is) Sku(n)kha, the Scythian.

Leave a Reply

